Control Room Awards 2022 finalists announced

Control Room Awards ceremony 2020.

The finalists in the Control Room Awards 2022 have been revealed, as the community prepares to celebrate the hidden heroes of the emergency services. The Control Room Awards will be held on the first evening of The Emergency Services Show on Wednesday, September 21, at the NEC in Birmingham.

The awards recognise the inspiring work of control room teams and individuals as well as the selfless service they provide to the public. This year, the Control Room Awards have a new headline sponsor in The Emergency Services Show, which also publishes Emergency Services Times.

More than 170 entries were received for the Control Room Awards this year from over 40 organisations across England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, as well as abroad. Entries across 11 categories were submitted from police, ambulance and fire and rescue services, the Maritime and Coastguard Agency and private care providers.

Mike Isherwood, founder of the Control Room Awards, said, “We’re delighted that the Control Room Awards are back as an in-person event this year, for the first time since the start of the pandemic.

“Over the past couple of years the emergency services and control rooms have faced unprecedented pressures and demands. These awards are a vital opportunity to recognise how control teams and individuals continue to respond brilliantly to these challenges, with amazing professionalism, skill and resilience. These awards bring the control room community together for a night of celebration of the dedication and excellence of their peers.

“Congratulations to all the finalists, in what has been an exceptional year of entries. We wish them the very best of luck for the awards ceremony. It promises to be an unmissable night.”

The Control Room Awards are the only accolades that recognise the extraordinary contribution to the public and society of people working in control rooms for the emergency services, as well as other critical control operations.

Awards judging panel

The judges for the 2022 Control Room Awards are:

  • Mike Isherwood, founder of the Control Room Awards
  • Jordan Baker, Sales Director, WEYTEC
  • Paul Bergin, Managing Director, Public Safety Group, Sopra Steria
  • David Brown, Event Director, Emergency Services Show
  • Christian Hunt, CEO, PSG Analytics
  • Teri Seaber, Former Group Commander, Combined Fire Control of Cambridgeshire and Suffolk Fire and Rescue Services
This year’s finalists

Community Champion – sponsored by Sopra Steria

  • Tom Barnett, Maritime and Coastguard Agency
  • Emma Hobday, West Mercia Police
  • Andy Miller, Kent Police

Control Room Ambassador of the Year – sponsored by PSG Analytics and CallMiner

  • Jonathan Mustard, Maritime and Coastguard Agency
  • Helen Rea, London Fire Brigade
  • Jools Reavill, Lincolnshire Police

Team of the Year – sponsored by The Emergency Services Show

  • Durham Constabulary Communications B Relief Team
  • Herts Careline
  • Lincolnshire Police Force Control Room

Leader of the Year

  • Jon Goldie, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust
  • Natalie Gregory, East of England Ambulance Service
  • Kelly Kirk, Lincolnshire Police

Young Achiever of the Year – sponsored by EIZO

  • Jules Fynn, Maritime and Coastguard Agency
  • Simone Jefford, Maritime and Coastguard Agency
  • Laura Reed, Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust

Control Room Call Taker of the Year – sponsored by PSG Analytics

  • Liam Charles, North East Ambulance Service
  • Nicola Cleaveland, Kent Police
  • Megan Turtle, Kent Police

Control Room Dispatcher of the Year – sponsored by WEY Technology

  • Martin Clark, Kent Police
  • Karen Hay-Barr, Lincolnshire Police
  • Jack Smith, Kent Police

Special Recognition for Bravery and Courage – sponsored by NEC Software Solutions

  • Leanne Diamond-Page, Kent Police
  • Becky Haywood, Staffordshire and West Midlands Fire Control
  • Sophie Sutton, Lincolnshire Police

Award for Services to the Public

  • Emma Hobday, West Mercia Police
  • Dean Rogers, National Ambulance Service of Ireland
  • Jonathan Styance, Kent Police

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Anthony Boothman, Essex Police
  • Gary Campion, Maritime and Coastguard Agency
  • Stephen Rennie-Brewer, Lincolnshire Police

There is no shortlist for the John Gilhooly Unsung Hero Award, named after John Gilhooly who served in the Scottish Ambulance Service control room for almost 30 years. The winner of this award will be announced at the awards ceremony.