Finalists announced for Control Room Awards 2019

APD Control Room Judging day. From L to R: Mike Isherwood, Cheryl Rolph (seated), Ian Thompson (seated), Chris Dreyfus-Gibson and Sue Noyes (seated).

The finalists have been announced for the APD Control Room Awards 2019, which attracted almost 400 nominations from emergency services and other critical control operations.

The awards are being staged for the second year in 2019 and nominations for the nine award categories came from more than 60 organisations, including the first entries from the Maritime & Coastguard Agency and non-emergency services control rooms operated by organisations, such as the Health and Safety Executive and voluntary body MEDSERVE Wales.

As well as entries from across England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland, the awards also attracted the first participation from outside the British Isles, with nominations coming from as far afield as the United States.

The APD Control Room Awards are the only accolades to recognise and celebrate the life-saving and life-changing work of staff in control rooms within emergency services and critical control operations.

The shortlisted entries recognise the remarkable, behind-the-scenes work of control room staff in keeping the public safe and secure and responding to the most challenging and harrowing emergency incidents.

The awards are run by APD Communications, which develops critical, life-saving software used by the police and other emergency services organisations across the country, as well as transport and aviation operators nationally and internationally.

APD Managing Director Mike Isherwood said, “It was an emotional experience to read through the entries and a very difficult process to select the shortlists. It’s humbling and deeply inspiring to receive hundreds of entries telling the stories of so many selfless individuals who are totally dedicated to serving the public. They represent a snapshot of the thousands of people working in control rooms who make a vital contribution, day after day, to a healthy, functioning society.

“Their amazing work is largely unseen and unrecognised, so we feel privileged to have this opportunity to celebrate so many outstanding individuals and teams and the control rooms community as a whole through these awards.”

The APD Control Room Awards 2019 finalists are:

Control Room Call Taker of the Year, sponsored by Emergency Services Show and Emergency Services Times:
Kirsty Findlay, Police Scotland
Sarah Fisher, South Western Ambulance Service
Gemma Honey, Lincolnshire Police

Control Room Dispatcher of the Year, sponsored by Plantronics:
Sue Dyer, Thames Valley Police
Bronwyn Langdon, Kent Police
Carmel Sharkey, National Ambulance Service of Ireland

Leader of the Year, sponsored by Affini:
Samantha Grainger, Thames Valley Police and Hampshire Police
Becky Tipper, Avon and Somerset Police
Rachel Walters, Northumbria Police

Award for Services to the Public, sponsored by telent:
Amanda Cassidy, London Ambulance Service
Julie Roberts, Dyfed Powys Police
Nick Rook, West Yorkshire Police

Special Recognition Award for Bravery and Courage, sponsored by Hexagon Safety & Infrastructure:
Megan Brunt, Avon and Somerset Police
Eddie McEvoy, West Yorkshire Police
Jason Stevens, Thames Valley Police
Gemma Warren, Merseyside Police

Young Achiever of the Year, sponsored by Sopra Steria:
James Dye, South Yorkshire Police
Liam Masurier, Welsh Ambulance Service
Codie Williams, Welsh Ambulance Service

Community Champion Award, sponsored by Northgate Public Services:
Romel Davis, Nottinghamshire Police
Kate Dewey, Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Service
Jonathan Tones, North East Ambulance Service

Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by BAPCO Show 2019:
Mick Millen, Kent Police
Midge Nolan, Metropolitan Police
Mark Rodaway OBE, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

Team of the Year, sponsored by Red Box:
B Relief, Durham Constabulary
D Watch, London Ambulance Service
Red Watch, Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Service

In addition, a special John Gilhooly Unsung Hero Award will be announced at the awards ceremony. This award is dedicated posthumously to John Gilhooley who served in the Scottish Ambulance Service control room for almost 30 years.

The winners will be announced at the APD Control Room Awards ceremony on 7 March at the De Vere Orchard Hotel in Nottingham when finalists and a select group of guests will enjoy an evening of celebration, reward and recognition. The cost of shortlisted nominees’ tickets will be covered, making it possible for all finalists to attend.